DARTS produced the result of the day before the best attendance in the division but, sadly, it was just a whisker too late to join the play-off stage.

Sean Eferakorho replaced hamstrung Tommy Osborne and Craig Carley came in for Bradley Woods-Garness in an otherwise unchanged starting line-up.

Ramsgate were backed by an indefatigable bunch of supporters who kept going right to the end, cheerful and amusing and in no way vindictive.

To be honest, most of the first half was scruffy with Darts attacking the Academy End.

Right from the start, Eferakorho showed intent by putting a cross in which was almost headed into his own net by a Ramsgate defender, but the agile Jamie Turner held the effort. Turner, in fact, had to be alert to a barrage of Ryan Hayes left foot curlers aimed for the far post. When he proved himself equal to the task, Ryno tested him low down at the near post.

Ramsgate almost had their moment of fame on 20 minutes when Dan Tanner got on the end of a diagonal cross and struck the base of Andrew Young’s left post with a surprise header. Darts did have the ball in the net on 22 minutes, but the effort failed to impress the near side assistant and offside was the resultant decision. With less than 10 minutes to go to the break, Rob Haworth had a tap-in from a goalmouth skirmish to put Darts in front and in control.

The second half was a fun session for the home side and all the flicks, off-ball running and imaginative changes of direction were rolled out for the crowd’s entertainment. Hayes delivered a replica of his stunning goal of Easter Monday on 57 minutes and then decided to spend the rest of the game firing at goal from varying ranges and angles.

Haworth crashed home from close range on the hour and the rout was completed when Lee Noble received a crafty through ball and beat the overworked Turner with a stunning shot to round off an enjoyable afternoon.

It had been a soporific afternoon and a voice in the stands was heard to comment: “Crikey, it’s 4.26pm and the Dartford crowd has woken up.”

Dartford: Young, Eferakorho, Gross, Flanagan, Coyle, Dafter (White 73), Hayes, Day, Haworth (Butterworth 73), Carley (May 62).Noble. Subs not used: Guest, Ibrahim. Att: 1,105.