Cray Wanderers moved to the top of the Isthmian South-East table after a fifth straight win at Ashford United.  This is the best ever start to an Isthmian League season for Cray and they remain the only side with a 100% unbeaten record.  

Michael Power continued his rich vein of early season form with two goals, the first in the 10th minute and the second three minutes from time.  Jay Leader headed a second for Cray before half time with Stefan Cox replying for Ashford early in the second half.

Cray were looking to bounce back from last Saturday's FA Cup defeat to Met Police and got off to the perfect start with Power played through after ten minutes and gently lifted a shot over the advancing Sam Mott for a great finish.

Ashford threatened mainly through Cox down the right but Cray were unlucky not to score again when Junior Dadson saw a shot deflected towards goal by Antonio Simeone and Mott had to make a great one handed save.  Then Dadson curled a shot against a post with Mott beaten.

In the 39th minute, Cray went 2-0 up when from a Bradley Pritchard right wing corner the ball came to Tom Phipp who headed the ball towards Mitchell Nelson who in turn flicked the ball on to Leader who headed in from five yards.

Ashford played well in the second half and pulled a goal back in the 52nd minute when Cox was found down the right of the area and drove a near post shot past Nick Blue.

Blue though made good stops to deny Sam Corne and Lanre Azeez but Ashford's hopes took a knock five minutes from time when Cox was sent off believed to be for violent conduct.

Cray who had defended well second half broke away and scored a classy third when Ben Mundele down the right found Barney Williams who put over a first time cross to the far post where Power emphatically headed the ball into the net from six yards to seal the win.

The Wands are next in action on Saturday, 22nd September in what should be a cracking contest against in form Hythe Town at Hayes Lane.  

Cray Wanderers: Nick Blue, Barney Williams (Capt.), Archie Johnson, Jay Leader, Mitchell Nelson, Bradley Pritchard, Sean Roberts, Tom Phipp, Michael Power, Aaron Rhule (Malik Solebo, 90), Junior Dadson (Ben Mundele, 69):  Subs: Freddie Parker, Zak Henry, Marcus Evans

Att: 266