Cray Wanderers continued their 100% start to the Isthmian South East season with victory against Whitstable Town at Hayes Lane.  In the first league meeting between the sides since 2008 Cray had to work hard to break down very a dogged and resolute Oystermen side but clinically taken goals from Junior Dadson and Aaron Rhule in the second half gave Cray the three points.

Cray came close a number of times to taking the lead in the first half with twice Michael Power, Marcus Evans and Rhule all denied goals by fine saves from Whitstable keeper Dan Eason.  The best coming in the twelfth minute when he made a flying push over save to stop Power’s rasping shot from the edge of the area.

Whitstable came close to scoring on the quarter hour mark when John Walker’s ball forward found Ricky Freeman who hit a first time looping volley which Nick Blue did well to tip over.

Before half time, chances came to Dadson who shot wide and Rhule again denied by Eason but the two sides went in at the break scoreless.

Cray continued on the attack in the second half with Bradley Pritchard testing Eason with a low drive and Rhule headed wide from a corner.

Just when it seemed it might not be Cray’s day their patience was paid off in the 68th minute when Ben Mundele made a charge down the right and from inside the area his effort was parried out by the keeper and from nine yards Dadson fired into the net for his first goal of the season.

Cray came close to sealing the game when Rhule and Power came close but with two minutes remaining Cray got the breathing space they wanted with the second goal when a patient build up ended with Power putting a neat ball through to Rhule who from twelve yards buried the ball under the keeper to make it 2-0.

This was a game that Cray needed patience and perseverance and it paid off in the end and the Wands now go into FA Cup action on Saturday in the Preliminary Round with a home tie against Rusthall, Kick off 3pm.

Cray Wanderers: Nick Blue, Barney Williams (Capt.), Archie Johnson (Ben Mundele, 58), Marcus Evans, Tom Phipp, Bradley Pritchard, Sean Roberts, Karl Dent (Zak Henry, 87), Michael Power, Aaron Rhule (Malik Solebo, 90), Junior Dadson:  Subs: Freddie Parker, Joe Vines

Att:  316