Despite conceding a last gasp equaliser, Welling United earned a point that might be crucial prove to be crucial against Havant and Waterlooville.

Having come from behind to take a well deserved lead, the Wings were left disappointed when conceding a ninety-sixth minute equaliser to the promotion hopefuls.

They might have gone ahead in the third minute but Ben Wells’ drive rattled the crossbar. Dipo Akinyemi then shot high and wide before Ben Matheson did well to thwart Manny Duku when he had got in behind.

Joe Oastler was relieved to clear his own crossbar from Harvey Bradbury’s pull back before Wells could only sky over on the stretch when a Bradley Stevenson corner caused problems.

Just before the half hour mark, the visitors went ahead with a measured curler into the top scored by James Roberts.

Jake McCarthy shot wide for Havant and Wells did well to charge down a shot by Paul Rooney however, Akinyemi had the last chance of the first half with a low drive that was claimed by Ross Worgan at the second attempt.

After the interval Bradbury was unable to guide a header on target from a Stevenson corner before the Wings levelled. Stevenson again tried to pick out Bradbury who was manhandled to stop him from reaching it and a penalty was awarded. Akinyemi stepped up and Worgan went the wrong way as Welling’s leading scored fired home.

McCarthy tried his luck with a free kick but Coniah Boyce-Clarke saved easily but Welling continued to press and were rewarded with twelve minutes remaining. Alfie Matthews found Ade Shokunbi and he lashed it home from twenty yards.

Although a minimum of four additional minutes was signalled, a Welling substitution and two yellow cards meant that five and a half minutes had been played when Havant broke away and substitute Jake Andrews hooked home.

It was a gut-wrenching end for the Wings but manager Warren Feeney will know that if his team play with the same attitude next week at Hungerford Town, they will have a chance of getting something out of that game.

Welling United: Boyce-Clarke, Statham, Ezennolim, Margetson, Sendles-White, Wells, Allen (Matthews 76), Stevenson (Derry 90+4), Bradbury, Akinyemi, Shokunbi. Subs not used: Burnett, Mason-Saunders, Jackson.