Charlton failed to impress in front of a bumper Valley crowd after losing 2-0 to promotion rivals Shrewsbury.

Second-half goals from Alex Rodman and Omar Beckles gave Paul Hurst’s men a deserved win.

Ben Amos saved a penalty from Joe Nolan in the first-half, but it couldn't inspire the Addicks on the club’s annual football for a fiver day, which attracted a season-high 17,581 fans.

The result sees Charlton drop out of the top six after Plymouth beat Bradford. 

Karl Robinson made two changes to the team that beat MK Dons with Mark Marshall and Jason Pearce replacing Ben Reeves and Patrick Bauer.

Charlton started like a house on fire and somehow failed to take an early lead. Jake Forster-Caskey’s tame close-range effort was blocked before Shrewsbury goalkeeper Dean Henderson pulled off a superb double save to thwart Josh Magennis and Joe Aribo.

The first-half chances dried up for the Addicks as the visitors seized control.

There weren't too many complaints from the Valley faithful when referee Christopher Sarginson awarded a 17th-minute penalty. Nolan won the ball off Chris Solly, advanced into the box and was fouled by a slipping Ezri Konsa to give Hurst’s side a golden opportunity to break the deadlock.

But Amos saved Nolan’s spot-kick with his legs and the latter headed the rebound on to the crossbar.

Shrewsbury dominated possession for the rest of the half and created another opening just before the break when Shaun Whalley’s cross was volleyed over by Carlton Morris.

Charlton were slow out of the blocks following the restart and found themselves one-nil down on 52 minutes. Rodman was allowed to cut in on his right foot and unleash a rocket past Amos.

With the Addicks offering no kind of response, Shrewsbury doubled their advantage in the 67th minute after an unmarked Beckles headed in Whalley’s corner.

Substitute Tarqie Fosu saw a 20-yard strike rise just over the bar in the latter stages of the game. That was the closest the home side came to scoring in the second-half.

Charlton XI: Amos, Solly, Konsa, Pearce, Dasilva (Ajose 72), Kashi, Forster-Caskey, Marshall (Fosu 57), Aribo, Kaikai (Zyro 90), Magennis.

Subs not used: Maynard-Brewer, Jackson, Bauer, Reeves.