Fifteen Thamesmead primary schools took part in the 14th annual Matthew Clarke Memorial Tournament which was hosted by Sporting Club Thamesmead at Crossway Park on Thursday 14 June 2012.

The event saw 14 of the 15 schools battle it out to become the 2012 champions, whilst Discovery Primary School, who are still too young to take part in the competition, put on an exhibition match to showcase their talent.

In all, 26 matches took place throughout the afternoon, with Jubilee V Boxgrove and Heronsgate V St Margaret Clitherow making it to the hotly-contested semi-finals, with Boxgrove and St Margaret Clitherow facing each other in the final, of which the final score was 1-0 to St Margaret Clitherow.

One of St Margaret Clitherow’s teachers was overheard saying: “I have waited a long time to win this trophy!”

Nobody went away empty handed with every player in the tournament receiving a medal from Matthew Clarke’s mum, Marcy and former Liverpool, Sunderland and Charlton Athletic Football Club’s goalie and European Cup winner, Bob Bolder, who now works for Charlton Athletic Community Trust.

Both the runners-up and winners were also given individual trophies to take home and St Margaret Clitherow’s captain was presented with the Matthew Clarke Memorial Tournament Cup.

Bob Bolder said “This is the second time I have been involved in the Matthew Clarke Football Tournament. It is a great community event held at a fantastic community facility and it is good to see so many young people playing football in such good spirit.”

Northwood Primary School’s goalie, 10-year-old Omonefe Orogun said: “It was brilliant playing so many games and meeting Bob Bolder – he is an inspiration to me as a goalie. I would like to play for Liverpool one day.”

Sporting Club Thamesmead’s Sports Development Officer, Dan Wells said: “The annual tournament really does justice in keeping the memory of former St John Fisher pupil and Thamesmead Town FC Under-10s team member Matthew Clarke alive. We would like to thank Matthew’s mum, Marcy who supports the event every year as well as the schools for participating – without them there wouldn’t be a contest.”