THE Tories have taken the Dartford constituency from Labour.

Gareth Johnson has won the seat for the Tories, beating Labour’s John Adams thanks to an 11.6 per cent swing from Labour to the Conservatives.

Mr Johnson received 24,428 votes, compared with 13,800 for Mr Adams.

James Willis of the Liberal Democrats finished third in the poll with 7,361 votes.

The Tories received 48.8 per cent of the vote, Labour 27.6 per cent and the Lib Dems 14.7 per cent.

Gary Rogers, representing the English Democrats, had 2,178 votes, while Richard Palmer of the UK Independence Party polled 1,842.

Independent candidate Stephane Tindame received 264 votes, and John Crockford of the Fancy Dress Party had 207.