Members of the Orpington Ojays Swimming Club received awards last week for their outstanding achievements during the year.

Jo Mullins was presented with the Kent Swimmer of the Year award by the Mayor of Bromley, David Crowe, at Crofton Halls.

At the same ceremony, Alyssa Whitmore received the Keighley/Mayes Trophy for Endeavour and the Orpington Ojays collected the trophy for being the top female club in Kent for the second year in succession.

Earlier in the week, Naomi Rowlands, Emily Brown and Matt Perkins received Bromley Excellence Awards from Olympic Gold medalist James Cracknell and Claire Marrow received a medal for her swims for the Bromley borough team in the London Youth Games.

One of the clubs younger swimmers, Daniel Lester, went to the Hilton Hotel in Bromsgrove to receive a prestigious ASA Frosties Special award see picture on page 19 from BBC football pundit Trevor Brooking and former Olympic swimmer Nick Gillingham in recognition of money he had raised during a charity swim.

If you would like to find out more about the club, call Craig Stevenson on 01689 602137 for details.