London is home to many amazing and unique features from Buckingham Palace, and the River Thames to Shakespeare Globe. 

But if there's one feature London has to offer that is not only iconic but is arguably the beating heart of the region, it's the tube. 

Whether you call it the London Underground or just the tube, there's no doubt that the service helps the city keep up with its fast pace. 

The tube has an endless amount of stations still in use, but there are a handful of historic stops that were once a budding hub and are now left in the past.

From Down Street to Brompton Road, we've taken a step back into the past and looked at the abandoned tube stations across London. 

News Shopper:

The abandoned stations on the London Underground

Down Street

Down Street was one part of the Great Northern Piccadilly and Brompton Railway, which later gave way to the Piccadilly Line. 

The station closed in 1932, just 25 years after it first opened and was near Hyde Park Corner and Dover Street. 

Set in a wealthy residential area, Down Street suffered a lack of passengers with locals using more comfortable transports.

Although it closed, the station was still used for its war effort, seeing the space become the home to Winston Churchill and his War Cabinet, before the Cabinet War Rooms were built. 

After the war, Down Street closed again and has stood empty since, it is now often the host to London Transport Museums' hidden tours. 

Brompton Road

Another forgotten station that shares a similar history to Down Street, Brompton Road was set between Knightsbridge and South Kensington. 

The general strikes in 1926 saw it closed for five months, before its permanent closure in 1934 following the modernisation of Knightsbridge station. 

Now the station still features some of its original tilings but has been converted into flats.

News Shopper:

South Kentish Town

Originally created to serve the Northern Line, it had been named Castle Road but a decision by developers saw the change. 

The costly name change saw painting over the bespoke titles and once it did open, it had a very low passenger number. 

In 1924, a strike at a local power station saw the stop closed permanently, now South Kentish Town is the home to an escape room. 

Mark Lane

This station opened back in 1884 and was created to replace another station, the Tower of London, which operated for just two years. 

Mark Lane later become Tower Hill station in 1946 but was eventually closed in 1967 due to its increase in users and the need for expansion. 

Today, Tower Hill Station is set on the origin site of Tower London station which once replaced Mark Lane station.