A MOTION proposed by the Labour Party to ban fracking in England has been rejected.

The motion, which was voted on last night in the House of Commons, was defeated, with 326 MPs across England voting against it and 230 MPs voting in favour.

Last month, the UK government ended the fracking ban in England as part of its plan to limit rising energy costs.

Prime Minister, Liz Truss said she wanted to re-start fracking in the UK to try and reduce the country’s reliance on imported gas.

The Labour Party wanted to give MPs a chance to overturn the decision during a debate in the House of Commons.

22 MPs across south London and Kent all casted a vote – and eight MPs voted against and 14 voted for the motion.

No Conservative MPs across England voted in favour of the motion.

This is how the south London and Kent MPs voted on whether to debate banning fracking in the UK:

Voted against:

David Evennett, MP for Bexleyheath and Crayford (Conservative)

Stephen Hammond, MP for Wimbledon (Conservative)

Gareth Johnson, MP for Dartford (Conservative)

Robert Neill, MP for Bromley (Conservative)

Chris Philp, MP for Croydon South (Conservative)

Bob Stewart, MP for Beckenham (Conservative)

Louie French, MP for Old Bexley and Sidcup (Conservative)

Chris Grayling, MP for Epsom and Ewell (Conservative)

Voted for:

Rosena Allin-Khan MP for Tooting (Labour)

Janet Daby, MP for Lewisham East (Labour)

Marsha De Cordova, MP for Battersea (Labour)

Clive Efford, MP for Eltham (Labour)

Vicky Foxcroft, MP for Lewisham and Deptford (Labour)

Helen Hayes, MP for Dulwich and West Norwood (Labour)

Sarah Jones, MP for Croydon Central (Labour)

Siobhain McDonagh, MP for Mitcham and Morden (For)

Sarah Olney, MP for Richmond Park (Liberal Democrats)

Matthew Pennycook, MP for Greenwich and Woolwich (Labour)

Steve Reed, MP for Croydon North (Labour)

Ellie Reeves, MP for Lewisham West and Penge (Labour)

Bell Ribeiro-Addy, MP for Streatham (Labour)

Munira Wilson, MP for Twickenham (Liberal Democrats)


Have you got a story for us? You can contact us here.

Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram to keep up with all the latest news.

Sign up to our newsletters to get updates sent straight to your inbox.