On Thursday, May 5, 2022, elections will take place to elect Bexley Council’s 45 Borough Ward Councillors.

Although the elections will decide who is responsible for issues in Bexley, such as rubbish collection dates and housing regeneration schemes, they will also allow voters to have their say on national issues, such as the cost-of-living crisis and the latest Party gate scandal.

Local Councillors are elected every four years by the local community in Bexley and taking part in the polls allows residents to have their say.

These Councillors are responsible for issues such as public health, education, planning applications and many more – see table below.

What do I need to know?

On Thursday, Bexley residents – who have registered to vote – can head to their local polling station and vote.

Polling stations will be open between 7am and 10pm, but as long as you are in the queue at 10pm, you can still cast your vote.

The verification and counting of the ballot papers will take place at 10pm on Thursday, May 5, 2022, at Crook Log Leisure Centre in Brampton Road.

There are three Members of Parliament (MPs) elected to represent Bexley; in the Bexleyheath and Crayford, Erith and Thamesmead and Old Bexley and Sidcup parliamentary constituencies – part of the Erith and Thamesmead constituency is in the London Borough of Greenwich area.

The last general election was held on December 12, 2019.

A By-election for the Old Bexley and Sidcup parliamentary constituency was held on December 2, 2021.

Purpose of the committee:

The full Council consists of all elected Members – including members from Conservative, Labour, and the Lib Dems.

The Council takes major decisions, in particular relating to the annual budget and Council Tax setting, together with ‘policy framework’ decisions that set the parameter within which the Executive operates.

At its Annual Meeting at the beginning of each municipal year, the Council appoints a Mayor and Deputy Mayor and appoints Members to the Cabinet, Committees and Outside Bodies.

The current Mayor of Bexley is Councillor James Hunt (Conservative), and the Deputy Mayor is Councillor Alan Downing (Conservative).

There are 45 Councillors elected to the council that represent their local community across 17 wards.

How does Bexley Council spend your money?

Below is an infographic, credited to the BBC LDR, that identifies how Bexley Council currently spend residents money per each £100:

News Shopper: BBC/LDRBBC/LDR

To find out where your polling station is click here

Have you got a story for us? You can contact us here.

Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram to keep up with all the latest news.

Sign up to our newsletters to get updates sent straight to your inbox.