Gareth Johnson has been re-elected as MP for Dartford after the Conservatives won the seat with 62.9 per cent of the vote and a large majority of 19,160.

It was declared early on Friday morning that Johnson will return as MP for the constituency after he received 34,006 votes.

It was a two-horse race on election night, with the Labour candidate, Sacha Gosine, coming in at second place with 14,846 votes.

He was followed by Liberal Democrat Kyle Marsh in third place with 3,735 votes, and Mark Lindop of the Green Party in fourth with 1,435 votes.

Turnout was 65.7 per cent.