A growing number of airlines across the globe have grounded their Boeing 737 Max 8 jets following the fatal crash of an Ethiopian Airlines plane, killing 157 people.

The UK's Civil Aviation Authority says it has issued instructions to "stop any commercial passenger flights from any operator arriving, departing or overflying UK airspace" following the tragic incident on Sunday.

There are five 737 Max aircraft which are registered and operational in the UK, while a sixth was due to come into service later this week.

This is a list of the airlines and countries that have grounded the aircraft so far, with airlines in brackets. Otherwise the decisions have been taken by the respective countries' civil aviation authority boards.

  • Ethiopia (Ethiopian Airlines)
  • Brazil (Gol Airlines)
  • Cayman Islands (Cayman Airways)
  • China
  • India (Jet Airways)
  • Indonesia
  • Mexico (Aeromexico)
  • Singapore
  • South Korea (Eastar Jet)
  • Australia
  • Oman
  • Malaysia
  • UK
  • Norway (Air Shuttle)
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • France
  • Turkey (Turkish Airlines)
  • Netherlands
  • Poland (LOT)
  • Italy
  • Canada (Sunwing)
  • Vietnam
  • South Africa (Comair)
  • New Zealand
  • UAE