Lewisham Council now has an opposition of one after Labour all but wiped out their competition.

Fifty-three of the council’s 54 seats are now red after the Lib Dems were destroyed, leaving the Green Party’s Brockley councillor, John Coughlin, as the sole opposition voice.

Meanwhile Sir Steve Bullock was re-elected as the Mayor of Lewisham with 36,659 votes and a 50.77 per cent share.

Tory Simon Nundy came second with 11.14 per cent of the vote while Lib Dem Duwayne Brooks finished third with 10.02 per cent.

It was a devastating night for Mr Brooks who also lost his Downham seat on the council after five years.

He later tweeted: “I believe my journey with the LibDems in #Lewisham has come to an end. I have been loyal, doing my best throughout with integrity.

“Congrats to Sir Steve @lewishamlabour it was a great experience to try and challenge you to your crown. Defeated accepted graciously.”

Mr Brooks was with Stephen Lawrence when he was murdered on 22 April 1993 in Eltham. 

In February 2009, Brooks was elected as a Downham councillor for the Lib Dems following a by-election.

In 2010 he launched an ultimately unsuccessful campaign to become the Mayor of London in 2012. 

Mayor of Lewisham results - May 2104

Steve Bullock - Labour Party - 36,659 votes - 50.77%

Simon Nundy - Conservative Party - 8,041 votes - 11.14%

Duwayne Brooks - Liberal Democrats - 7,234 votes - 10.02%

Mike Keogh - The Green Party - 7,224 votes - 10.00%

John Hamilton - Lewisham People Before Profit - 6,014 votes - 8.33%

Peter Lello - UK Independence Party (UKIP) - 5,684 votes - 7.87%

Chris Flood - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition - 1,354 votes - 1.88%

Total eligible electorate: 196,609 

Turnout: 73,204 (37.2%)