Hundreds of Mini owners celebrated the little British icon on Sunday at Brands Hatch for the third running of the Mini Festival.

Mini clubs from across the country poured into the venue to display their owners' cars and the racing timetable was dedicated to the Mini.

News Shopper: Chris Knox (888) won three Mini Challenge races

The Power Maxed Mini Challenge catered for fans of the most recent incarnation, the BMWs, and Chris Knox dominated to pick up all three of the wins.

The racing was often fraught, but he impressed on his way to the treble.

News Shopper: Paul Rhodes two wheels his way to winning the Mighty Mini raceThere were three different winners in the Cooper class as Gideon Cresswell, Shane Stoney and William Phillips all tasted the winner's champagne.

News Shopper: Ralph Budd's Mini is not in such pristine condition after crashing in the Super Mighty Mini raceJamie White doubled up in the Super Mighty Minis, while the sister Mighty Minis championship saw close wins for Ian Slark and Paul Rhodes.

Stig Blomqvist was a popular winner in the penultimate race of the day, the Sanwa Trophy Mini Endurance as he capitalised on a safety car period to take control of a hectic race.

The Mini Miglia race was as close as ever, but Aaron Smith was the man who came out on top.

Darren Thomas' Mini Se7en victory was the tightest of the day, crossing the line just one-tenth clear of Andrew Deviny, while the most comfortable was certainly that of Endaf Owens.

In the open-to-all 'Fastest Mini of the World' Race, he lapped the whole field in his impressive spaceframe Mini.

News Shopper: Jamie White (1) won both Super Mighty Mini racesJonathan Lewis enjoyed a comfortable win the Anglo-French Battle for pre-'66 Minis too, winning by more than eight seconds.

News Shopper: Darren Thomas (4) beat Andrew Deviny in the Dunlop Mini Seven raceAway from the track, remote control MINIs took on a scaled-down Indy circuit and classic rallying Minis demonstrated why it's one of the most popular rally cars ever on the rally stage.

News Shopper: Aaron Smith (21) front right, won the Mini Miglia raceThe rally Minis were also among the special Mini display featuring former WRC Minis, the Red Bull Mini and more.

News Shopper: Former world rally champion Stig Blomqvist (66) won the Sanwara Trophy Mini Endurance race

All of the above pictures were captured by our photographer SIMON HILDREW. 

Follow us on Twitter @NewsShopperSprt