Three Dartford train stations have been awarded Secure Station status, recognising improvements to passenger safety and security.

The awards were presented to staff at Dartford, Swanscombe and Greenhithe stations by Dartford MP Gareth Johnson.

The Southeastern stations are part of the Secure Stations Scheme managed by the Department for Transport and British Transport Police, which endorses the stations as safe environments for passengers and staff.

The scheme celebrates the work done by the train operator and local communities to reduce crime at their stations, increase co-operation with the British Transport Police and regional police force, and install additional security features including CCTV and better lighting to deter crime.

Southeastern duty station manager for Dartford Alwyn Hurlock said: "We’re so proud to receive this award.

"The staff at these stations have really worked hard to achieve safety improvements, so it’s fantastic that their efforts have been recognised."